Negativity

I hate negativity. I wish I didn’t. I don’t like the idea of hating things. But negativity, ugh! I really HATE it! It takes over everything around it like a disease. When it’s coming from someone you love and trust, it’s like a punch in the gut. I knocks you out for a moment and creeps into your mind to take hold of your mental peace. I really strive for peace and happiness in my life. When I’m going through something hard, I cling on to my faith and hope that things will get better, that this awful moment will pass. It’s really hard, but it gets me through. But, when those around you are perpetually worried or negative about the future, it’s so hard to keep that positivity. It eats through your hope. And, in my opinion, that’s not a good thing. It doesn’t help you get past your challenge or hurt. It doesn’t help your happiness or give you the strength to get up and move forward. It just knocks you out. I’ve been dealing with a lot of negativity from some close people in my life, and it has just been eating at me. Those comments used to really get me down, but now, they just make me angry because I see them as an obstacle to my peace and happiness. Next, I need to work on just brushing them off and not letting them bother me if they’re coming from someone who’s not trying to intentionally bring me down like close friends. But, alas, we’re all a work in progress, so that will be part of my future not my current state. In the meantime, I will focus on being empathetic when someone is going through something hard, being hopeful and positive about the future, and encouraging them to work hard to get there. (All while being realistic enough not to set them up for complete disappointment in outcomes.) Sometimes the storm seems too dense and rough for us to make it through, but it’s the shining lights in our life that help us see the way out. (Did anyone catch the irony that I just wrote a negative post about negativity?) – 02/28/2017

Leave a Reply

