Build Me Up

I had such a great conversation with a coworker today about life, healthcare (the industry we work in), and this website. I always go away feeling wonderful after our conversations because she’s one of those people that respects so much what I’m trying to do here and continuously builds me up. She believes in me, which I don’t depend on anymore because I find my validation internally. But, that belief in me gives me so much energy to do more of what I’m trying to do. She makes me feel that I can make a difference in the world…a big statement, I know. I want that though, and surrounding myself with people who encourage and believe in me really helps. It helps me stay sane. It helps me stay focused. And, it helps me stay positive. All of that makes me very happy! I haven’t blogged in a few days, and I’ve realized that I’m not sleeping well without it and that I have a lot of ideas just itching to get out. For example, I eventually want to start a mentorship program where people who have endured a type of struggle can mentor someone else going through that struggle. There’s so much that I want to do, and that list continues to build because I believe in myself and surround myself with people who believe in me. It’s so important to have those people around you to remind you of how awesome you are and that you can make it through anything, even if you think you can’t (a thought that has entered my mind many times). I give a shout out to that coworker who always builds me up and all the friends, family, and coworkers that build up all of us. If you don’t have those people in your life, do what you can to seek them out and build stronger relationships with those people. It’s always worth it. Those people are lifesavers on your bad days, and we all know there are a lot of bad days on the pathway from struggling to thriving! – 3/14/17

Leave a Reply

